What are the penalties for drunk driving in Florida?

On Behalf of | Sep 30, 2017 | Drunk Driving, Firm News |

In Florida during 2011 there were a total of 33,625 DUI convictions according to DMV records. A DUI conviction can have a significant impact on the life of the accused individual. DUI charges can impact all aspects of the life of an accused individual including their personal and professional lives. In addition, in Florida, DUI charges carry serious penalties and potential consequences.

To begin with, failure to consent to a breath test or blood or urine test in Florida will result in license suspension for one year. For the first DUI charge, accused individuals face a fine ranging from $250 to $500; up to 6 months in jail; up to 50 hours of community service; revocation of their driver’s license for at least 180 days; probation not more than a year; and 12 hours of DUI School.

Penalties for repeated DUIs grow even more severe. Because the penalties for drunk driving can be harsh, and the consequences can be serious, it is important for accused individuals to be prepared to defend themselves against drunk driving charges. A criminal defense strategy is based on the situation, however, all accused individuals have important criminal defense rights and protections to protect them from being falsely accused.

When authorities have failed to follow procedures designed to protect accused individuals, it is important for an individual that has been accused of a DUI to understand how that impacts a criminal defense strategy. Whenever criminal charges are involved, and the accused individual’s freedom and future are on the line, it is essential for accused individuals to be familiar with their rights through the criminal justice system.

Source: DMVFlorida.org, “Florida Drunk Driving,” Accessed Sept. 28, 2017

Practice Areas

Florida Family Law

Real Estate &



Debt &

How Can We Help You?